Author Archives: Rebecca Rosenthal

2021 NSC Registered Teams

This page contains the list of teams who have registered for the 2021 NSC by qualifying, submitting the registration form, and sending in their deposit. It was last updated on 5/31/2021.

The field cap of 80 is now full. Teams can still register for the waitlist and may be added to the field if another team withdraws.

Registered Teams

Adlai Stevenson A (Linconshire, IL)
Adlai Stevenson B (Linconshire, IL)
Arcadia (Arcadia, CA)
Auburn A (Rockford, IL)
Auburn B (Rockford, IL)
Barrington A (Barrington, IL)
Barrington B (Barrington, IL)
Beavercreek (Beavercreek, OH)
Belmont (Belmont, MA)
Biotech (Freehold, NJ)
Canyon Crest (San Diego, CA)
Carbondale (Carbondale, IL)
Centennial (Ellicott City, MD)
Chattahoochee A (Johns Creek, GA)
Chattahoochee B (Johns Creek, GA)
Chattahoochee C (Johns Creek, GA)
Choate (Wallingford, CT)
Cinco Ranch (Katy, TX)
Del Norte (San Diego, CA)
Detroit Catholic Central (Novi, MI)
Detroit Country Day A (Beverly Hills, MI)
Detroit Country Day B (Beverly Hills, MI)
East Chapel Hill (Chapel Hill, NC)
Eldon (Eldon, MO)
Fort Osage A (Independence, MO)
George Wythe (Wytheville, VA)
Grain Valley (Grain Valley, MO)
Great Valley (Malvern, PA)
Greenhill (Dallas, TX)
High Technology High School (Lincroft, NJ)
Hoover (Hoover, AL)
Hotchkiss (Lakeville, CT)
Hunter A (New York, NY)
Hunter B (New York, NY)
Illinois Math and Science Academy (Aurora, IL)
Ithaca (Ithaca, NY)
Johns Creek (Johns Creek, GA)
Kinkaid (Houston, TX)
Ladue (St. Louis, MO)
Lambert (Cumming, GA)
Langley (McLean, VA)
Lexington (Lexington, MA)
Lisgar (Ottawa, ON)
Manheim Township (Lancaster, PA)
Miami Valley (Dayton, OH)
Maggie Walker A (Richmond, VA)
Maggie Walker B (Richmond, VA)
Norfolk Academic Guild (Norfolk, VA)
North Carolina School of Science and Math (Durham, NC)
Northfield (Northfield, MN)
Northmont (Clayton, OH)
Parkway West (St. Louis, MO)
Plato Academy A (Silver Spring, MD)
Plato Academy B (Silver Spring, MD)
Richard Montgomery A (Rockville, MD)
Richard Montgomery B (Rockville, MD)
Rock Bridge (Columbia, MO)
Russell (Russell, KY)
Saint Joseph (South Bend, IN)
Solon A (Solon, OH)
Solon B (Solon, OH)
South Burlington (South Burlington, VT)
Southside (Greenville, SC)
St. Mark’s (Dallas, TX)
TAG Magnet (Dallas, TX)
TJHSST A (Alexandria, VA)
TJHSST B (Alexandria, VA)
TJHSST C (Alexandria, VA)
TJHSST D (Alexandria, VA)
TJHSST E (Alexandria, VA)
Troy (Fullerton, CA)
Troy (Troy, MI)
University Lab (Urbana, IL)
University of Toronto Schools (Toronto, ON)
Wayzata A (Plymouth, MN)
Wayzata B (Plymouth, MN)
Wayzata C (Plymouth, MN)
Westview (San Diego, CA)
Winston Churchill (Potomac, MD)
Woodford County (Versailles, KY)

Waitlisted Teams

  1. Western Reserve Academy (Hudson, OH)
  2. Naperville North (Naperville, IL)
  3. Mira Loma (Sacramento, CA)
  4. Strake Jesuit (Houston, TX)
  5. Carl Sandburg (Orland Park, IL)
  6. Eden Prairie (Eden Prairie, MN)
  7. Stanton College Prep A (Jacksonville, FL)
  8. Plano West (Plano, TX)

Teams With Deposits Pending

These teams have started the registration process but have not yet submitted their deposit. Until they do, they are not yet officially registered for the tournament.

Buffalo Grove (Buffalo Grove, IL)
Georgetown Day (Washington, DC)
Kirksville (Kirksville, MO)
Phillips Academy (Andover, MA)
Raymore Peculiar (Raymore, MO)
Stanton College Prep B (Jacksonville, FL)

Standby Teams

  1. Fort Osage B (Independence, MO)
  2. Ridgewood (Ridgewood, NJ)

Applications and Nominations for PACE Membership

The Partnership for Academic Competition Excellence is seeking applications and/or nominations for new members! The Summer 2021 Cycle is open until July 6th, 2021 at 11:59 P.M. EST. Current high school students are not eligible.

The Partnership for Academic Competition Excellence (PACE) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit, volunteer alliance of advocates and organizers for the game of high school quizbowl. PACE members commit themselves to outreach projects, organization of the NSC, or both, as well as attending virtual meetings every month or so. PACE frequently collaborates with other high school and college academic competition organizations to achieve greater success in its projects. 

In both application and nomination statements, PACE is looking for evidence of: 

  • sustained outreach efforts 
  • strong tournament direction skills 
  • leadership roles in local or regional quizbowl organizations 
  • steadfast commitment to projects that improve competitions or the quizbowl community in general 
  • experience in head editing question sets 
  • specialized technical skills (e.g. video editing skills, experience handling an organization’s finances, web design) 

These are not the only criteria that PACE members take into account when deciding who to invite, but these elements typically form a strong statement. Statements should be no more than 300 words. Longer statements do not affect admission – it is entirely dependent on the content. 

PACE values having a diverse set of voices amongst our membership, from all races, colors, religions, sexes, gender identities, and sexual orientations. We are especially welcoming applicants and nominees who are women or underrepresented minorities, as we recognize that an array of perspectives can significantly strengthen our organization. Often, people from these groups are hesitant about whether they are qualified to apply. If you know someone who would be a great fit but who might be reluctant to apply, please consider nominating them! If you’re just interested in learning more about what it’s like to work for PACE, feel free to email us, or take a look at a 2016 thread on the subject

We look forward to reading your applications and nominations!

2020 NSC Fee Structure

NSC Cancellation

The 2020 NSC has been cancelled due to public health concerns. We will be announcing details on the 2021 NSC soon.

The fee structure for the 2020 PACE NSC is as follows:

Base fee: $765 per team (note that this is per team, not per school)
Buzzer systems*: –$10 each per school, max 1 per team
Staffers: –$50 each per school, max 2 per school
Hosting a gold-certified tournament: –$10 each per tournament, no limit
Hosting a platinum-certified tournament: –$20 each per tournament, no limit
Early payment discount: –$15 from total fee for full payment by March 1

*In order to claim a buzzer discount, teams must provide a system with at least eight fully working buzzers (defined as having lockout capabilities and functional identifying lights). Buzzer systems will be tested at buzzer check-in and teams who provide non-working systems will be required to refund the discount. Please note that buzzer discounts will be limited to one per team.

Teams may choose to pay the full registration fee as soon as they register, or to pay a $100 down payment at registration. PACE will count the $100 down payment towards the registration fee. If your team is being paid for in full by the team’s school or school district and another group, such as the students and/or coach, fronted the down payment, PACE will reimburse your team $100.

If a registered team withdraws from the tournament:
– The down payment is fully refundable (minus $5 processing fee) until March 13, 2020.
– The down payment is half-refundable (minus $5 processing fee) until April 10, 2020, after which the down payment is non-refundable.
– After May 8, 2020, the full payment is non-refundable.

All registration payments, online or by mailed check, must be received by May 10, 2020. For each day your payment is not received after May 10, a $15 fee will be added to your entry fee. If your payment is not received by May 15, PACE reserves the right to drop your team from the tournament.

NSC entry fees primarily go towards writers and editors of the NSC question set, travel and lodging for NSC staffers, organization operating costs, and maintenance costs for this website and the forums.