2000 NSC Results

Furman University
Greenville, South Carolina
June 3-4, 1999
NSC Program

State College Area High School
State College, PA

Martin Devecka
Jacob Mikanowski
Madhury Ray
Nicole Szacon
Coach: Julie Gittings
Coach: Debbie Wells

Eisenhower High School
Utica, MI

Christopher Hayward
Michael Klida
Christopher Pappa
Kevin Roth
Coach: Ruth Tharp

Paul Dorman High School
Spartanburg, SC

Sulman Ali
John McBride
Geoffrey Thomas
Julie Cook
LuElla Putnam
Coach: James Garrick, Jr.
Coach: Dianne Earle

Riverdale High School
Murfreesboro, TN

Patrick Currier
John Merrill
William Gill
Patrick Riser
Meg Sniderman
John Truex
Coach: Carlotta Wright
Coach: Cathy Sniderman

All-Star Team:
Martin Devecka
Andrew Malcovsky
Jacob Mikanowski
Ben Neale
Patrick Riser
Kevin Roth
Paul Schultz
Matt Weiner

State College Area HS
Burlington HS
State College Area HS
Governor’s School for Gov’t & Int’l Studies
Riverdale HS
Eisenhower HS
Detroit Catholic Central HS
Governor’s School for Gov’t & Int’l Studies


State College A was able to make it a three-peat as PACE NSC champions with a 315-185 victory in the finals over Eisenhower, capping off an overall 12-0 record for the tournament at Furman University.


Surprise semifinalist Riverdale, who had pulled off a playoff upset over the Governor’s School for Government and International Studies (later to be named for Maggie Lena Walker), gave State College A all they could handle before falling to defeat. In the other semifinal, Eisenhower defeated Dorman A.

Consolation Bracket:

As there were only 16 teams in the tournament field, all 16 teams advanced to playoff competition, so there was no consolation bracket.

Tournament Statistics: